Do You Need to Report a Minor Fender Bender?
If you’re in a motor vehicle accident — even a minor one — there are laws regarding reporting an accident in Nevada. Knowing these laws is important so that you protect your legal rights, especially if you discover that you were hurt and need to file an injury claim later.
First things first: If anyone is injured in the accident, it’s essential to call 911 so that police and paramedics can respond to the scene. But if there are no injuries and the damage to the vehicles seems minimal, you do not need to call the police. There are other reporting requirements, though.
If there appears to be more than $750 worth of damage to any vehicle involved in the accident, you must submit a Nevada DMV Report of Traffic Accident Report (SR-1) to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the accident. If the police were on the scene, they will most likely submit a report to the DMV. It’s always best to check because the penalty for failure to report is a suspension of your driver’s license for up to one year.
Other Steps to Take
If you’ve been in a car accident, you should also:
- Exchange information with anyone involved. This should include contact info, driver’s license numbers, license plate numbers of all vehicles involved, and insurance information.
- Take photos of the accident scene.
- Get names, phone numbers, and email addresses for any witnesses.
- See a doctor right away to rule out any undetected injuries.
Keep in mind that it’s not unusual for injuries to surface a few days after an accident. Make a doctor’s appointment as soon as symptoms emerge. Then contact an experienced attorney to learn about your rights to compensation resulting from the motor vehicle accident.
Do You Need Help?
Not sure what to do after an auto accident in Las Vegas? Learn your legal rights by talking to a car accident lawyer at THE702FIRM Injury Attorneys today. Call or contact us for a free consultation.