Car Accident Laws in Nevada
If you’ve been involved in a car accident in Las Vegas, particularly one that resulted in injuries, it is important to understand how negligence is determined in these cases and how Nevada’s car accident laws apply to your case.
No matter the type of crash, Nevada’s car accident laws and car insurance regulations will play a role in your injury claim. Understanding these laws and the insurance system can make a significant difference in the amount of compensation you recover following a car accident.
Trying to navigate the legal complexities involved in a Nevada car accident case by yourself can be an intimidating and daunting task. At THE702FIRM Injury Attorneys, our legal team has a deep understanding of these laws and has successfully recovered more than $112 million in compensation for our deserving clients. We are ready to help you now with your claim.
Contact us today to schedule a free initial consultation.
Understanding Car Accident Laws in Nevada
After a car accident in Nevada, you and others involved have several obligations:
- You should first stop at the scene of the crash and offer assistance to anyone who was injured. If you or others were seriously injured, seek medical attention as soon as possible.
- You should exchange information with the other driver(s) involved. Get the driver’s name, contact information, driver’s license number, and insurance information. Get names and contact information for any witnesses, too. If you can, take plenty of pictures of the accident scene with your smartphone. Be sure to get photos of the vehicles and your injuries, as well.
- You should report the accident to authorities. If a police offer did not come to the scene, you must report the accident to the closest police station. If the accident was not investigated by police and it involved any injuries, death, or property damage that looks to be more than $750, you must file a report within 10 days to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Understanding Nevada Fault Law
When it comes to car accidents, Nevada follows a “fault” system. This applies to the financial responsibility for all losses resulting from a car accident, including medical bills, lost wages, and other damages. Therefore, the individual who was at fault for causing the car crash is responsible for any resulting harm.
If you suffer injuries or other damages in a car accident, you may typically proceed in one of the following ways:
- File a claim directly with the at-fault driver’s insurance company
- File a personal injury lawsuit in court against the at-fault driver
- File a claim with your insurance company if your losses are covered under your policy
To better understand your next steps after a car accident, please contact our attorneys today. We can investigate your crash to determine who was at fault and manage all communication with the insurance companies.
Get Started with your CaseCall Us at (702) 776-3333
Comparative Negligence Law in Nevada
Nevada operates under a “comparative negligence” fault structure. This means that if you have suffered losses in a car accident, you can recover damages as long as someone else was at least 50 percent responsible for the crash.
With comparative negligence, which is also known as “comparative fault,” “shared fault,” and “modified comparative negligence,” if two or more parties are at fault, a court may determine how much blame can be attributed to each of them. Damages are then adjusted accordingly.
For instance, if you were hurt in a crash and determined to be 25 percent at fault, your award would be reduced by that percentage. So, if you were awarded $10,000 in damages, you would receive $7,500 in compensation.
Nevada’s “50 percent rule” states that if a party is deemed to be 51 percent or more responsible for a car accident, that party cannot recover compensation.
The comparative negligence rule plays a role in how insurance companies treat accident claims. Adjusters will seize on any opportunities to push blame onto victims in order to reduce the amount of damages that could be awarded. This is why it is crucial to have a skilled attorney on your side who is well versed in Nevada car accident laws.
Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents in Nevada
In Nevada, you have two years from the date of the accident to file a personal injury lawsuit. This time limit is known as the statute of limitations. If you wait too long to take action after a crash, you may find that time has run out on your claim and you are barred from seeking compensation for your losses.
Do not wait to talk to a lawyer about your legal rights after a crash. Contact THE702FIRM Injury Attorneys now for your free consultation.
Nevada Auto Insurance Statutes
Nevada requires its residents to have at least the following car insurance coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in a crash
- $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of more than one person in a single crash
- $20,000 in property damage liability coverage
This liability coverage pays for damage to others if you are responsible for an accident. Liability insurance does not provide coverage for your injuries or your property. It’s also worth noting that you may purchase more than the minimum level of insurance coverage required by law.
To protect yourself in the event of a crash caused by an uninsured driver, you can purchase uninsured motorist coverage. This provides coverage to you if you are hit by an uninsured driver or in the case of a hit and run accident.
Talk to a Las Vegas Car Accident Lawyer Now
Have you been hurt in a car accident in Las Vegas that was someone else’s fault? Do you have questions about how Nevada’s car accident laws and insurance requirements apply to your injury case? Allow our knowledgeable and compassionate car accident lawyers to help guide you through this complicated process. At THE702FIRM Injury Attorneys, we will fight for total financial compensation to cover all your past, present, and future losses related to your crash.
Contact our Las Vegas car accident law firm now to schedule a free and confidential consultation, during which we will answer all your questions and explain your legal options.