Motorcycle Laws in Nevada


Before you can operate a motorcycle in Nevada, you must meet certain licensing requirements, helmet laws, and safety equipment regulations. The legal code for motorcycles is NRS – Chapter 486. If you are involved in a motorcycle accident in Nevada, whether you were following the state’s motorcycle laws could play a vital role in your accident case.

Oftentimes, insurance companies will try to pin the blame on bikers, claiming the motorcyclist was the one who violated the law and was at fault for the crash. Our experienced Las Vegas personal injury lawyers at THE702FIRM Injury Attorneys can guide you through all the motorcycle laws in Nevada and explain your rights after a crash.

If you or a loved one has been injured in a Las Vegas motorcycle accident due to someone else’s negligence, you may be entitled to compensation. Our compassionate and knowledgeable motorcycle accident attorneys will help you demand the maximum compensation available to you. Call us today to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation.

Nevada Motorcycle Helmet Laws

In Nevada, motorcyclists and their passengers are required to wear helmets that meet standards set by the U.S. Department of Transportation, according to the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles. Exceptions are mopeds under 50cc incapable of reaching more than 30 mph.

Motorcyclists and their passengers are also required to wear protective glasses, goggles, or face shields. If you are operating a motorcycle equipped with windscreens, you don’t have to use protective glasses. However, you must still wear a helmet.

If you recently moved to Nevada, you must register all your vehicles, including motorcycles, with the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within the first 30 days. Electric bikes and mopeds are exempt from registration.

Motorcycle License Laws in Nevada

If you are a Nevada resident who wants to operate a motorcycle in the state, you must obtain a Nevada Class M driver’s license. It’s worth noting that some motorcycle-like vehicles, such as mopeds and tri-mobiles, do not require a Class M license to operate on public property, as long as the operator has a standard driver’s license.

Before obtaining the Class M license, you must already have a Nevada-issued Class C (standard vehicle) license or higher. Applicants older than 18 must pass a vision, written, and skills test, unless they have an exemption.

Applicants under 18 will need to:

  • Have had a motorcycle instruction permit for no less than six months
  • Have at least 50 hours of logged supervised riding experience
  • Pass a motorcycle riding safety course or have an additional 50 hours of logged supervised riding experience

Nevada Motorcycle Permit Laws

Many motorcycle riders in Nevada choose to obtain a motorcycle license by first getting an instruction permit. The permit is required for applicants under the age of 18 and optional for those 18 and older. After you obtain an instructional permit, you may practice your motorcycle driving skills under the direct supervision of a licensed motorcycle rider who is at least 21 years old.

The Nevada motorcycle permit test includes two parts: a written exam and a road skills test. However, riders who successfully complete a motorcycle safety course are exempt from taking the road skills portion.

Certain restrictions must be followed when possessing a motorcycle instruction permit. With an instruction permit, you are not allowed to:

  • Drive on freeways or interstates
  • Operate a motorcycle at night
  • Carry passengers
  • Ride without direct supervision of another rider who is at least 21

Required Equipment for Motorcycles in Nevada

Like cars and trucks, motorcycles in Nevada are required to have at least one headlight, a red tail light, and a brake light. The list below outlines all equipment requirements for motorcycles in Nevada.

To legally operate a motorcycle on Nevada roadways, your motorcycle must be equipped with the following:

  • At least one headlight
  • No more than two headlights
  • A red taillight that can be seen from 500 feet
  • A brake light that is visible in daylight up to 300 feet
  • At least one rear reflector visible for 300 feet when hit with low-beam light
  • Front and rear brakes
  • Front and rear electric turn signals on motorcycles manufactured in 1973 or later
  • Rearview mirrors on both handlebars
  • Fenders on front and back wheels
  • Adjustable footrests
  • Horn
  • Muffler

Is Lane Splitting Legal in Nevada?

No, lane splitting is not legal in Nevada. This means that it is against the law for motorbike riders to ride between moving or stationary vehicles that occupy adjacent traffic lanes. If you lane split in Nevada, you could receive a traffic ticket and a fine. However, lane sharing is legal for motorcycle riders in Nevada. This means that motorcycle riders may ride side-by-side with other motorcycles in the same lane if both parties consent.

Hurt in a Motorcycle Accident? Talk to a Lawyer Now

If you or a loved one has been hurt in a motorcycle accident in Nevada, you may be entitled to compensation for your losses. Our skilled and experienced motorcycle accident attorneys in Las Vegas will investigate every aspect of your accident and build a strong case on your behalf. We will hold the at-fault parties accountable and fight for the full and fair compensation you deserve.

Call us or contact us online today to schedule a free initial consultation. Our Las Vegas motorcycle accident attorneys are ready to help you move forward with your life after a serious crash. We also work on a contingency fee basis, which means that we don’t get paid unless we recover compensation for you.