Las Vegas Teen Driving Accident Attorney


Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage for many teenagers. However, their young age and inexperience make them riskier neighbors on the road. Car accident statistics show around 10 percent of all motor vehicle crashes in Nevada involve teenagers.

Did your teen cause a wreck that hurt another person? Or did someone else injure your child in a crash? A Las Vegas teen driving accident attorney from THE702FIRM Injury Attorneys can provide guidance and support during this difficult time.

Our personal injury attorneys understand the challenges Nevadans face after a teen car accident. The emotional toll can be overwhelming. Healing takes time and costs money. You deserve to know your legal options and whether compensation is possible as you cope with what’s happened.

Let us help relieve your burdens. Our award-winning car accident attorneys can meet with you at a time and place convenient for you to discuss your case and rights. While you or your teen recovers, we will handle every aspect of your case and fight for the justice you deserve.

Call or contact us today for a free consultation.

Las Vegas Laws on Teen Driving

It’s no secret that inexperienced drivers cause accidents. Recognizing the hazard, Nevada has a graduated driver licensing system for teen drivers. This program is designed to slowly introduce teenagers to driving rather than setting them loose on the roads entirely.

Once a teenager reaches the age of 15-and-a-half, they can apply for a driving permit. A teen applying for a driving permit must have the permission of a parent or guardian, pass a vision and written knowledge test, and show proof of school attendance. A driving permit allows teenage drivers to operate a vehicle with another licensed driver aged 21 or older who has at least one year of driving experience.

Once a teen has completed 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice (with at least 10 hours of nighttime driving) and typically 30 hours of classroom driving instruction, they can apply for a minor’s driver’s license at age 16. A teen may apply for a minor’s license if:

  • They have held a driving permit for at least six months.
  • They submit a log of the required practice hours.
  • They pass an on-road driving test.
  • They have had no at-fault collisions, moving violations, or drug or alcohol convictions in the past six months.

A minor’s license comes with certain restrictions, including:

  • Teens may not carry any passengers under 18 within the first six months of obtaining the license, except for immediate family members.
  • They may not drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m., except for school or work-related purposes.
  •  All passenger vehicle occupants should wear a seat belt.

A teen may apply for an unrestricted driver’s license upon turning 18.

In addition, teenage drivers are subject to Nevada’s zero-tolerance law for drunk driving under 21. Teen drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.02 percent or higher may be charged with driving under the influence (DUI), even if their ability to operate a vehicle safely has not been impaired.

It’s crucial that teens and parents alike understand all of Nevada’s teen driving laws to help keep teens and other drivers safe on the road.

Teen Driving Statistics in Las Vegas

Nevada defines “young drivers” as between the ages of 15 and 20. The most current data from the state Department of Public Safety indicates that over four years:

  • Young drivers made up 11 percent of the state’s motor vehicle crash deaths.
  • Three-quarters of Nevada’s young driver collisions occurred in urban areas.
  • Male drivers between 16 and 20 comprised the highest age group of at-fault drivers in fatal crashes involving young drivers.
  • Most fatal motor vehicle crashes involving young drivers occurred between 6 p.m. and 9 p.m.
  • Half of all these wrecks happened at night.
  • Saturdays are the deadliest days for teen crashes in Nevada.
  • Angle crashes account for over one-third of young driver crashes in the state. Vehicle rollovers are the second-most common type of accident.
  • Young drivers between the ages of 16 and 20 were at fault in 7 percent of impaired driving collisions.

Common Causes of Teen Driving Accidents in Las Vegas

Lack of experience plays a role in most car accidents caused by teen drivers. This inexperience is due to fewer hours of driving time than adults, but also immaturity. Teen drivers still have developing brains, and their judgment is not always where it should be.

Other factors that contribute to teen driver accidents are the same as those in adult crashes, such as:

  • Distracted driving, especially from cell phones and other teen passengers
  • Speeding
  • Tailgating
  • Failure to yield
  • Reckless or aggressive driving, including weaving in and out of traffic
  • Impaired driving

All of these actions may be considered negligent behavior. When another driver’s negligence causes an injury or fatal crash, they could be held liable through a personal injury claim or lawsuit.

Can Parents Be Sued After a Teen Driving Accident?

In Nevada, a parent or guardian must endorse a teen’s application for a driving permit or a minor’s driver’s license. Under state law, any negligence or recklessness of a minor while driving can be imputed to the person who endorsed the minor’s application for a permit or license.

As a result, parents who sign their teen’s permit or license applications can be sued under Nevada statutory law if their teen later causes a motor vehicle crash. Parents might be held accountable under a claim of negligent entrustment if their child causes a collision and they had reason to know their teen posed a risk of getting into an accident.

Compensation for a Teen Driving Accident in Nevada

The physical, financial, and emotional costs of a teen driving accident can be astronomical. Nevada law allows victims to pursue compensation from the at-fault party to recoup these losses.

Compensation for a teen crash may include:

  • Past, present, and future medical bills
  • Lost wages
  • Lost earning potential, if the crash affects or will affect the victim’s ability to work
  • Rehabilitation costs
  • Pain and suffering
  • Lost quality of life
  • Property damage

Contact Our Las Vegas Teen Driving Accident Attorneys

It’s a nightmare no one wants to have: Your teen driver or someone you love got hurt in a car accident. Get help from the Las Vegas car accident lawyers at THE702FIRM Injury Attorneys today. Our accomplished legal team will provide the compassionate and competent representation you need to seek maximum compensation. Call or contact us now for a free case review.